Who We Are 2017-10-08T11:56:18+00:00


The All-Party Parliamentary Group was founded and supported in 2009 by five leading parliamentarians: 

The Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP (Labour)

Secretary of State for Food, Environment and Rural Affairs 2007- May 2010; Secretary of State for International Development 2003-2007; Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Home Office 2002-2003; Member of Parliament for Leeds Central since 1999.

Sir Menzies Campbell (Liberal Democrat)

Leader of the Liberal Democrats from 2006 to 2008. Deputy Leader from 2003-2006. Principal Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs since 1994. Member of Parliament for Fife North East since 1987. He is an Advocate by profession.

Lord (Michael) Hastings (Independent)

 Global Head Of Citizenship & Diversity at KPMG; previously Head of Corporate Social Responsibility at the BBC; Chairman of Crime Concern. 2005 UNICEF award for “outstanding contribution to solutions for Africa’s children”. He sits as an Independent. 

The Rt Hon Peter Lilley MP (Conservative)

Secretary of State for Social Security 1992-1995; Secretary of State for Trade and Industry 1990-1992; Member of Parliament for Hitchin and Harpenden/St Albans since 1983. Profession: Economic Advisor in developing countries; Partner, W Greenwell Stockbrokers. 

The Rt Hon Clare Short (Independent)

Secretary of State, International Development 1997-2003; Member of Parliament for Birmingham, Ladywood since 1983; Director of Youth Aid and the Unemployment Unit.


The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Trade out of Poverty is now managed by the following officers: 

C0-Chair: James Cleverly MP (Conservative)
 C0-Chair: Sarah Champion MP (Labour)
 Vice Chair:  Lord Michael Hastings of Scarisbrick CBE (Crossbench)
Vice Chair: Lord Stephen Green (Conservative)
  Vice Chair: Lord Paul Boateng (Labour)
With Saana Consulting functioning as the group’s secretariat.



It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter